The Bad Habit \ a thank you note

They were never uncouth and spoke impeccably

I supposed

until that grotesque mannerism

Pierced boorishly through the silence

that made eyes widen and jaws drop –

even seemingly noxious to some ears.

There was an initial revolt

So I rewarded them with a look of repugnance.

Yet it crept into me over time

insidiously I practised

letting the entrapped creature out of

My throat to venture into wild air

like a bubble, for that they taught me

my face shall not change colour.

 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

