The One? \ “When Harry Met Sally”

“I love that you get cold when it’s 71 degrees out. I love that it takes you an hour and a half to order a sandwich. I love that you get a little crinkle above your nose when you’re looking at me like I’m nuts. I love that after I spend the day with you, I can still smell your perfume on my clothes. And I love that you are the last person I want to talk to before I go to sleep at night. And it’s not because I’m lonely, and it’s not because it’s New Year’s Eve. I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.”

– Harry Burns, When Harry Met Sally (1989)

Caught ‘When Harry Met Sally’ earlier tonight, and I would say this movie is admittedly one of the best movies I’ve ever seen. It fits perfectly to my logic and trend of thoughts – see, maybe the one for us has always been beside us all along, just that we ourselves are not aware of it, yet.

Harry and Sally are individuals of polar opposites – one seems emotionally attached to the past, the other apparently being stronger and uninterested in others’ businesses (but then she breaks down in front of him one night knowing that her ex is getting married, revealing her inherent weakness… and then they have sex), yet fitting together like two pieces of missing jigsaw puzzle reunited after 10 years since they last saw each other.

Funny how fate really can work for some of us. And funny how people always say that a man and a woman can’t be friends, because all men think of is sex, at the mention of the word ‘women’. Well, this film definitely proves otherwise – men and women can be friends – and in fact some of them can even fall in love with each other, without even realising.

I love how Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan portray themselves as two characters at fullest comfort with each other. And yes, these two adorable personas get into many tiffs in the span of the tale, but the movie was called a wrap with this scene filled with pleasant relief and this rather cliche (yet undeniably enjoyable) ‘aww-ness’, where Harry (finally) got it all sorted out and blurts out a whole lot of reasons (see above) why he loves Sally, his best friend.

Well, all I’ve got to say is that it’s all the little things that can make someone fall in love with you. You may think that these traits of yours come off as an annoyance, but to this person who really loves you – they may seem extraordinarily attractive.

So come on folks, let’s find ourselves the one, with meticulous care.

I’m sure he or she is not too far from your reach. 

Leave a Reply

