unfaltering relationships \ “Gone Gone Gone”

When life leaves you high and dry
I’ll be at your door tonight
If you need help, if you need help.
I’ll shut down the city lights,
I’ll lie, cheat, I’ll beg and bribe
To make you well, to make you well.

When enemies are at your door
I’ll carry you away from war
If you need help, if you need help.
Your hope dangling by a string
I’ll share in your suffering
To make you well, to make you well.

Give me reasons to believe
That you would do the same for me.

And I would do it for you, for you.
Baby, I’m not moving on
I’ll love you long after you’re gone.
For you, for you.
You will never sleep alone.
I’ll love you long after you’re gone
And long after you’re gone, gone, gone.

When you fall like a statue
I’m gon’ be there to catch you
Put you on your feet, you on your feet.
And if your well is empty
Not a thing will prevent me.
Tell me what you need, what do you need?

I surrender honestly.
You’ve always done the same for me.

You’re my back bone.
You’re my cornerstone.
You’re my crutch when my legs stop moving.
You’re my head start.
You’re my rugged heart.
You’re the pulse that I’ve always needed.
Like a drum, baby, don’t stop beating.
Like a drum, baby, don’t stop beating.
Like a drum, baby, don’t stop beating.
Like a drum my heart never stops beating…

And long after you’re gone, gone, gone.
I’ll love you long after you’re gone, gone, gone.

– “Gone Gone Gone”, Performed by Philip Phillips


Music, for me, is a bridge between heaven and earth. I’ve never failed to look for songs that have upbeat tunes, head-banging rhythm, and just simply, have the ability to inspire me big time – for me to develop some new insights and even change my beliefs or attitude towards things in life.

And, for a definite reason, “Gone Gone Gone” here has both the aspects – a catchy hook, background accompaniment that is simple yet majestic, and something to make me ponder. Of relationships.

I, honestly, have great friends.

Great friends who’ll listen to my bullshit for 3 hours in a row through the phone; Great friends who see me tear up today and then give me sweet treats and little notes tomorrow to give me strength to move on; Great friends who’ll accompany me to places I’ve never been to; Great friends who’ll be there no matter what no matter when.

I never believed that friendships could make a whole lot of difference in me. I was that kind of fucking dimwit – remembering when I was in primary school, I’ll be that kid who queues up at the noodles stall and buys a bowl of macaroni (everyday, by the way. I’m fucking weird) and sits down alone to eat. Alone because all the other kids went off to play games together to enjoy physical fun. Yours truly was that kid who decided to be isolated and keep myself away from the others (because I’m lazy to fool around and run around the school block with them sweating like wild boars) because I don’t see the need of doing so. Of making friends, to be specific.

I wouldn’t imagine life doing everything alone, all by myself. And I’m glad to say that primary school mindset of mine has been thoroughly eradicated and now I’ve got plenty of friends. Real friends, to be exact. And I’m grateful for them to appear. And I assure people who’ve been here throughout for me, especially at times when life fucked me up, at times when I felt oppressed – I’ll do the same for you, because

you’ve been my back bone, my cornerstone, my crutch when my legs stop moving, my head start, my rugged heart, the pulse that I’ve always needed.

I understand that “Gone Gone Gone” may be interpreted by many as a love song, like between conventional relationships and sweet old marriages, but simple friendships, too, consist of support and making an effort to be there for each other when help is needed and forking out commitment for a long term.

Some people are obviously much more worthy of your love than some others.

Sometimes you may flip, you may get hurt because you realise people whom you’ve been spending so much time on – to think about, to worry about, to show concern to – do not reciprocate, and sometimes even lie to you saying that they care about you as much as you do for them. I’ve been there once: I recognised that such people don’t give you the apt reasons to believe that they’ll do the same for you. You show support to them, yet all they say is a word of ‘thanks’ – remember the other time it was your turn to muster some courage, yet you found out that they weren’t there to say “Hey babe, you can do this!” to encourage you in return?

I’m not being egocentric here and expecting that we should get something in return for any favour done. But isn’t that natural of people who truly feel for you and want you to feel happy to do simple things like these? People who truly care won’t, at the end of the day, possibly make you feel torn, broken, distressed, used, or helpless.

And I triumphantly say that I’m happy to have grown detached to such people who didn’t give a damn whilst I still cared, and have little clue how emotional I felt for them when they were at their lowest and wanted so desperately to be of some help. And I would be relieved to tell you that I’m fine with being strangers with such people. Not that they’d care if I’m okay with them or not, because apparently they too can’t be bothered no more.

“Even if the stars and moon collide, I’d never want you back into my life,” says Demi.


And to my soulmates, my companions,  and my family, you’re the earthly elements that keep me alive, that keep my heart drumming today.

And I’d do the same for you.

To be that pillar, to be one of the reasons why you can keep your heads up high, lift your souls, and brighten your smiles. I’ll love you, till you’re gone, gone, gone.

Leave a Reply

