blessing \ the story of Isaiah Austin

 

“Before we continue tonight, I want to take a moment to recognize Baylor center Isaiah Austin,”

Silver said, eliciting applause from the crowd at Barclays Center in Brooklyn.

“You may have heard about Isaiah. He is one of the nation’s best collegiate players, and was expected to be picked tonight before the discovery just a few days ago that he had a genetic disorder called Marfan syndrome and is no longer able to play competitive basketball.

Like the other young men here tonight, Isaiah committed himself through endless hard work and dedication to a potential career as a professional basketball player, and we wanted to make sure he fulfilled at least this part of his dream.

“So it gives me great pleasure to say,”

Silver continued,

“that with the next pick in the 2014 NBA draft, the NBA selects Isaiah Austin from Baylor University.”


I heard the story of Isaiah Austin, a 21-year old basketballer who has played basketball for his college, Baylor, for years 2012 – 2014, and was drafted by the NBA between the 15th and 16th draft pick. Isaiah’s blind in his right eye ever since middle school and kept this injury a secret from his teammates and close friends until this January. He then became eligible for the NBA draft pick on April 2014, but just five days before the night of the NBA drafting session, he then got to know that he suffers from a disease known as the Marfan syndrome, a disorder that affects the body’s connective tissue that may cause one’s heart to rupture – meaning that Isaiah has no choice but to end his competitive basketball career.

It broke my heart upon watching the commentary.

One who has worked so hard throughout his life for the one sport that he has been passionate about and has to end it by facing the adversely overwhelming news that he has this disease that will have to make him quit doing the thing he loves.


Isaiah –

“It’s really been a tough week. It’s really been rough. I’ve just had a tremendous amount of support from everybody around the world, really, telling me that they’re praying for me and everything.

Every single person that’s reached out, I give my gratitude to them.

[This] was one of the greatest moments of my life. Something I’ll never forget.

I love this game of basketball so much. It’s really changed my life.

To be blessed to play this game for as long as I did.

I’m just thankful.”

Interviewer releases bomb –

“What comes next?”

Isaiah –

“Everything,

I have a whole life ahead of me. I’m not going to sit here and sulk about not being able to play basketball anymore, because I can still be involved with the game somehow or some way.

Just being around all the draftees and seeing all my friends get drafted, it just brings joy to my heart because I know how hard we work to get to this point.

I’ve been through it. Everything — the late nights in the gym, the early mornings in the gym, the injuries, the tears, the sweat, the blood — everything.

To see them walk across that stage is one of the biggest blessings in my life.”


Just hearing this story made me realise how every single thing in life we do has a sole purpose. And this sole purpose will be something that can let us gain. learn, hope, for a better way out, in a way or another.

Yet a slight twist of fate can change circumstances,

make it better, or make it worse.

What Isaiah Austin here has inculcated – when he replies that ‘Everything‘ is what will come next – lets the statement of ‘every ending is a new beginning’ sound more legit.

Meanwhile, people whine and complain about things like

“Ugh my girlfriend broke up with me”, “Ugh that boy doesn’t want me cos I’m too fat and I’ve small boobs”, “Ugh someone confessed to the girl I hate a lot and it makes me feel real bitter so I ranted about it on my private account ugh I’m angry”

Goddammit, “Ugh, shut the fuck up.”

When there’s something you can change about the predicament that you’re trapped in, then get your ass up, and do something about it. Don’t whine, don’t complain and wait for something great to miraculously happen to you someday. Remember the world isn’t a wish-granting factory.


Hope that things get better for Isaiah Austin, and many of us be praying. Your story inspired me.

I’ve learnt, despite shit that we go through everyday, there comes down to one thing

in every downfall, we lose some, yet we gain the most.

And that’s why there’s this existence of a blessing in disguise.

 

 

Leave a Reply

